First things first! Before I dive head on into the food blogging business introductions are probably in order.

So, what's in a name? Where does "Small Aubergine" come from?

Do you remember "Goodness Gracious Me" - the hillarious comedy series with the brilliant, brilliant Meera Syal, Sanjeev Bhaskar and Nina Wadia?

In fact it was one of Nina Wadia's characters that inspired "The Small Aubergine". In one of the sketches, "Mrs. I can make it for nothing at home" a mother who is shown in all sorts of situations with her family repeatedly calls various things wasteful, saying "I can make it at home for nothing!" and for some strange reason she always needs "a small aubergine" to be able to do so.

We used to watch this series with our children and whenever this particular sketch came up they started having laughing fits, claiming that I am exactly the same.......So!....It appears that I am "Mrs. I can do it at home for nothing".......minus the aubergine.

Admittedly there is a resamblance, but I think I am more your "I could have done this better at home" type. This is true! Especially when it comes to food, because there is nothing I find more annyoing than paying over the odds for bad food and it is true that I often found that I could have done it better (and cheaper) at home.

So jump forward a few years since "Goodness Gracious Me" and food has now manifested itself inseperably in my life. More time on my hands, less children to feed (and less putting up with "iiiiii dooon't liiike it") and I can indulge in my passion. I was not sure at all which way to go, but there was one thing I was sure about: My name! Whether it was a catering business, an artisan food production or like in this case the humble blog with the ultimate goal to start my own supper club. 

Now that I seem to have found my direction - the Small Aubergine can finally make it's appearance.

I might only just be embarking on this journey, but the Small Aubergine and I have already become one and you are invited to come along with us.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Small Aubergine: Corporate marketer by day, passionate foodie by night. Follow my musings and thoughts cooked up over a hot stove.

    Archives

    August 2012

    Categories

    All